“My son can eat candies again!”

Halloween is a time when children tend to receive a lot of candies and chocolates. My son was always excited for dressing up in his ‘Trick-or-Treat’ costume to travel from house to house asking for treats. It is a tradition I personally loved to observe.

However, since two-three weeks, my son was experiencing toothaches in different teeth every time. There were two weeks left for Halloween. It made me worry because I really didn’t wish to stop my son from enjoying this time of the year.

Eating candies after discussing who got what was one of my favorite observations in the children. I just couldn’t imagine my son not doing this year. So, I finally decided to consult a dentist.

Turns out it isn’t very easy to find a good dentist in Burlington. On a friend’s suggestion, we went to ‘Rahlan Dental’ to inquire what exactly the problem with my son’s teeth was. We were pleased to hear that their consultation fees were actually nothing. It was a free dental check-up. I had these nightmares that candies will rot my son’s teeth. We asked the doctor whether it was something serious or something which will pass like a week’s fling. The doctor informed us that the parts of teeth that are visible are safe from the acids secreted by anything sweet as they are washed away when we drink water or brush your teeth. But, the problem begins when sweets get lodged in the crevices of your teeth. This way the bacteria gets more time to feed on them. Hence, I learned that the quantity of sugar (especially through soft caramel candies which stick to the teeth) that we ingest is not an important factor but, the quantity of time it stays in the mouth.

The doctor advised us to go through a ‘hygiene service’ that they did as they strongly believed in taking every precaution possible, to prevent future diseases and disorders from existing inside your mouth.

Portrait Of A Female Dentist And Young Man In A Dentist Office.

They had already examined my son’s teeth. The next step was to clean and assess them.

Then, they began with their professional work which included the following

1. Dental cleanings

2. Assessments

3. Dental x-rays

4. Teeth whitening

5. Laser services

6. Custom sports mouth guards

After this, they even recommended ways through which we can improve our dental care at home, and even answered all of questions and concerns. My son learned that to break down the process which starts after we consume anything sweet, one should wash his/her teeth thoroughly. Also, many popular candies have sugar-free versions which make it impossible for the bacteria to exist.

So, whatever you eat, the concern is to keep good dental habits and keep visiting a dentist once in a while but, never stop celebrating with candies and chocolates. It’s been a week since my son has gone through the dental hygiene clean up and his teeth are absolutely fit to consume all sorts of candies. So, ‘Happy Halloween!’

Leave a Reply

